Finance and Audit Committee

The Finance and Audit committee consists of the treasurer, vice president, and a first-, second- and third-year member of the Board of Directors. It is expected that the members from the Board will serve for three years. The treasurer, an elected ACOEM officer and member of the Executive Committee and Board of Directors, is the chair. It is desirable that he/she be a former committee member with at least one year of service. The executive director is an ex-officio member without vote.

The committee assumes the general responsibilities of all standing committees and in addition:

  1. Each year, reviews the financial needs and resources of ACOEM and its component societies and makes recommendations concerning the dues structure to the Board of Directors;
  2. Annually, reviews and recommends approval of the budget as proposed by the executive director and staff, subject to recommended changes by the Finance Committee and Executive Committee, to the Board of Directors;
  3. Monthly, receives and compares current performance against budget; provides feedback and updates to the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors at each quarterly meeting;
  4. Reviews and makes recommendations to the Board on all expenditures exceeding a limit defined by the Board of Directors which are not in the budget;
  5. Responsible for initiating, implementing, and modifying the investment policy of ACOEM, with the approval of the Executive Committee;
  6. Monitors financial status monthly to ensure compliance with College financial policies; and
  7. Directs the selection of and provides oversight and review of outside auditors. The Finance Committee is a Level 1 Committee, and therefore is a committee that deals with highly confidential and/or proprietary information. Due to legal and fiduciary responsibilities, these Committees are comprised exclusively of Board members. [Bylaws, Article XII, Section 3] 

Finance and Audit Committee Members:

  • Beth A Baker, MD, MPH, FACOEM (Vice President)
  • Melissa A. Bean, DO, MPH, MBA, FACOEM (Chair)
  • Bill Bruce, MBA, CAE (Ex-Officio Member)
  • William G. Buchta, MD, MPH, MS, FACOEM (Ex-Officio Member)
  • John W. Burress, MD, MPH, FACOEM
  • Stephen A. Frangos, MD, MPH, FACOEM (President Elect)
  • Jill A. Rosenthal, MD, MPH, MA, FACOEM
  • Kenji Saito, MD, JD
  • Gabriela Uquillas (ACOEM Staff Liaison)