Maintenance of Certification

Maintenance of Certification© (MOC) is the American Board of Preventive Medicine (ABPM) board certification process for assessment of continuing competencies of physicians. The ABPM MOC program continues to evolve to meet American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) requirements. 

The Four Parts of MOC 

Part 1: Professionalism and Professional Standing 

Hold an active, valid and unrestricted medical license in all states, US territories, or Canadian Provinces in which you are licensed to practice medicine. 

Part 2: Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment (LLSA) 

Complete continuing medical education and self-assessment activities in areas related to your practice. These include ABPM-approved courses as well as patient safety courses. ACOEM offers many ABPM-approved educational activities.  

Part 3: Assessment of Knowledge, Judgment and Skills 

Pass a cognitive exam during each certification cycle. The exam will contain similar content to the initial certification exam.  

Part 4: Improvement in Medical Practice 

Complete two Improvement in Medical Practice (IMP) activities. One of the activities must be completed through a Preventive Medicine specialty or subspecialty society such as ACOEM. 

For more details please visit the American Board of Preventive Medicine

ACOEM’s Role in the MOC program 

ACOEM’s Part 4 Booklet